HeartBalm
HeartBalm Healing Podcast
When You Feel Yourself Bracing Against Life
0:00
-9:40

When You Feel Yourself Bracing Against Life

HeartBalm Healing | Episode No. 48 (REPLAY)
Transcript

No transcript...

Photo: A wintery view from the mountain top - Montana (2018). Copyright SJPhotography

When You Feel Yourself Bracing Against Life (Includes Guided Meditation)

When I feel myself bracing, and hardening to life’s events I know it is my inner call to pause, and find patience in my desire to get back to smooth and easier lanes of life again, and to lean into myself and hear my own inner messaging that is speaking as despair, fear, sorrow, and futility. These are the voices of wisdom asking me to come closer to myself and accept these voices and sensations as the way toward my own self-loving heart and the grace of just being.

If the measure of the world’s intensity is growing stronger and my mindfulness practice is not keeping pace I will also feel out of sync and thoughts and fervent inner voices will begin to magnify and drown out the calls to my heart; the ways in which my heart can hold, navigate, and attend to abrasive events and harsh voices of life. Author and poet Nayyriah Waheed says this:

And I said to my body softly, ‘I want to be your friend.’ It took a long breath and replied, ‘I have been waiting my whole life for this.’

_Nayyirah Waheed, “Salt.”

Share HeartBalm

HeartBalm is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.

Being mindful of the shifts in our daily life, the world at large, and what we are watching and paying attention to can have a profound effect over time, and if we are not watching will intensify and grow the thick forest of obfuscation around us. For a time, the distance between us and our hearts will feel immense and too far away to get to. Getting back to this place of self-love and self-caring again can sometimes feel like swimming against hurricane-force currents.

The ego, however, has other plans and does not want you to leave its perfectly orchestrated labyrinth of confusion, muddled thoughts, and feelings – always countering the return home to the heart. If you find your way out through the jungle maze, and leave its games of misperceptions behind you are reminded that you have been free before and have found again – your opening heart, and the place of total acceptance that is always right in front of you showing you that you are enough, perfect, and loving. The truth is that even though it feels like a giant mountain to climb to return to your space of love and peace at times – it is only a breath away.

Home is where you hear love within the stillness.

_Raquel Franco, “When the Bee Stings”

Join me now for a moment to take ourselves to the top of the mountain, without needing to walk there or struggle for the top. A way to soar over the maze of our ego’s making and come home to the beauty and love of our heart and the grace of our being, sweet one.


Your support matters! Hit the like button and leave a comment to help me shape content for you and fellow followers. Your comments and likes drive customized content and help expand it to a wider audience. Thank you for being a part of this journey!


To read or explore more please reference this publications resource list:


Share HeartBalm

Leave a comment

Give a gift subscription

Refer a friend

Read HeartBalm in the Substack app
Available for iOS and Android
DISCLAIMER: Nothing on this website is a replacement for or supersedes the direction of your medical or mental health provider, nor is anything on this site a diagnosis, treatment plan, advice, or care for any medical or mental health illness, condition, or disease.
0 Comments
HeartBalm
HeartBalm Healing Podcast
Bringing love, presence, and balm to everyday lives, traumatized souls & aching hearts through word, poetry, nature, art, guided meditations, power gems, and offerings on self-love and being heart-centered in the midst of life 💖